Embassy of the RS Canberra /Study opportunities /



The Higher Education System

Over the last seventeen years higher education in Slovenia has undergone several
legislative and structural changes, rapid institutional development and a significant
increase in student numbers.

The higher education reform in 2004 introduced a three-cycle structure according to
the Bologna process guidelines. The first cycle has a binary system of academic and
professional study programmes leading to the first cycle degree (180-240 ECTS, 3-4
years). The second-cycle offers Masters courses (60-120 ECTS, 1-2 years). The thirdcycle
comprises doctoral studies (180 ECTS, 3 years).

Higher education institutions are universities, faculties, academies and professional
colleges. There are fifteen higher education institutions which cover all fields of study:
three public universities and twelve private higher education institutions. One of the
private universities is EMUNI (Euro-Mediterranean University), which gathers expert
knowledge and experience of the Euro-Mediterranean countries see www.emuni.si.
Under certain conditions, private higher education institutions can also offer state
recognised and co-financed courses.

The academic year begins in October and lasts until the end of September in the
following year. It is divided into two semesters: the winter semester usually runs from
October to January and the summer semester from February to the middle of July.

In Slovenia, the CMEPIUS - Centre of the Republic of
Slovenia for Mobility and European Programs (www.
cmepius.si) is the organisation managing scholarships
awarded by the Government of the Republic of
Slovenia. Another source is Ad futura - Scientific and
Educational Foundation of the Republic of Slovenia. It
is a public foundation which provides various types of
financial support (www.ad-futura.si).

Ad futura
Ad futura - Scientific and Educational Foundation
of the Republic of Slovenia was established by the
Government of the Republic of Slovenia with the aim
of providing opportunities for the international mobility
of students and researchers. Ad futura manages
scholarships, study loans for tuition, living expenses or
other costs. The specific rules are given in each call for

Courses of Slovene as a Second/Foreign Language
The Centre for Slovene as a Second/Foreign Language
promotes the understanding of the Slovene language,
literature and culture on an international scale. The
scholarships are mostly for lectureship in the Slovenian
languages. For more information, see www.centreslo.net.

Where can I find more information?
Ministry of Education, Science and Sport:

University of Ljubljana: www.uni-lj.si
University of Maribor: www.uni-mb.si
University of Primorska: www.upr.si
University of Nova Gorica: www.p-ng.si
Slovenian Government: www.slovenia.si

CMEPIUS - http://eng.cmepius.si/

List of higher education Institutions in Slovenia:




The students are encouraged to verify their selected study course on the list of registered study providers in Australia to make sure their study will be recognised in Australia.
Commonwealth Register of Institutions and Courses for Overseas Students (CRICOS)



Web: http://saaa.si/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SlovenianAustralianAcademicAssociation/
Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/SlovenianAustralianAcademicAssociation/